The day has dawned and dusked

There was a mysterious envelope put through the door on Saturday, not by the postman because there was no stamp on it. On the back, it said it was for Monday 29th.

This morning, I opened it. It was a chamois leather from Sally and Geoff. Well, it is our leather anniversary today! That’s the traditional list; the modern list is crystal or glass. The best and most practical use for the chamois leather would be to clean Henry because I can’t remember the last time I cleaned him, but I’m not going to – it’ll only get dirty! Can you think of a novel use for a chamois leather? (Clean suggestions only, please!)

This evening, I gave Colin a present from the modern list: a six-pack of Budweiser in glass bottles. He does like his bottles of Bud. That’s just a stop-gap present till his real one arrives, but that’s our little secret for now, so don’t tell him.

He gave me in return something from the traditional list and something from the new list: two books. No, they were neither decorated with crystals nor leather-bound. One is Language and the Internet by David Crystal, and the other is Nightfall by Stephen Leather. Do you see what he did there? Very clever.

Now, there’s just the matter of what we’re going to eat. I have already stated that I was not going to cook anything special after Valentine’s Day, so I assumed he knew he was to create something marvellous – just not one of his Colin Concoctions. Apparently not: he assumed we were going to finish the remains of yesterday’s takeaway. I’ve sent him out to the shop.

Categories: Life and Stuff | Tags:

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The day has dawned and dusked

  1. Pingback: Pandammonium: blogs [pandammonia]

  2. Glad you liked the gift and hope you find something good to do with it 🙂

    Loved the connection to the gifts that Colin gave you 🙂

    Tell Colin i will tell him what his gift is…. for a million pounds 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your day 🙂 x

  3. He doesn’t even know that’s not his real present yet! He thinks that’s all he’s getting, bless him.

    He’s busy in the kitchen now, making a meal of at least four courses, probably five. We’re eating it in stages, with me writing up my PhD between courses. And blogging…

Blog at WordPress.com.

